h1

You Took My Breath Away

March 20, 2011

Things were so simple; so brightly we shone.
Blinded by life, we couldn’t see home was a lie.
With all of the everythings in their places,
Façades of contentment covered our faces.
But the front was shattered on the day,
You took my breath away.

Hippocrates‘ merry-go-round spins its riders,
Russian roulette with all of the chambers in play.
Maimonides‘ legacy lost, take a number,
Wearied, it’s time for an eternal slumber.
None of it hurts compared to the way,
You took my breath away.

Don’t blame the Reaper ’cause he didn’t do it.
Don’t blame the sparrows; they just flew through it.
Don’t blame the ending on me, when you know,
You took my breath away.

Too noisy, you said, all that fading and dying.
It was too painful and you needed time far away.
‘Mid meager and half uttered claims of devotion,
My breathless heart followed you to the ocean.
When you replaced me with barely a thought,
You took my breath away.

Pounding square pegs into little round holes,
Golden Rule, song, and family souls in my heart,
Living in shadow, the world’s too damned bright,
Recalling a few things I ever did right.
One of those things, I thought, was you.
But you took my breath away.

Don’t blame the Reaper ’cause he didn’t do it.
Don’t blame the sparrows; they just flew through it.
Don’t blame the ending on me, ’cause you know.

JanCan September 13, 2010

I am digging up a few of them. I know you have read this one before, so it can just live here for posterity. Love.

One comment

  1. This is realy good! Its an old work? Very powerful.



Leave a Reply

