h1

Such a nice surprise

April 13, 2011

I loved listening to Paul Harvey. When I was traveling the state to present seminars I would look for him on the radio to keep me company as I drove. He looked slightly askance at the world and used that sideways viewpoint to highlight the ridiculous or to lambaste someone in the news with wry wit. He began his program with,

“Hello Americans, I’m Paul Harvey. You know what the news is, and in a minute you are going to hear… the rest of the story.”

and ended every program with his signature sign off during which his voice would squeak slightly on the word “day,”

“Paul Harvey… Good day.”

He was a familiar personality on the radio with interesting things to say and a voice that felt like old home. I loved The Rest of the Story episodes. My favorite quote attributed to him is,

“If you drink, don’t park. Accidents cause people.”

His linguistic abilities and wit shine in that short quote, and leave us thinking of a tired old catch-phrase—if you drink don’t drive—in an entirely new and relevant way. Accidents do cause people, but that doesn’t have to be a bad thing. Some accidents turn into a nice surprise, like you.

I never would have guessed that I would be a grandmother at thirty seven. I had never given much thought to any of my kids having a baby when they were still babies themselves, and wouldn’t wish parenthood on anyone as young as your dad and mom were when you were born because it is so difficult. They have to grow up virtually overnight. It’s so much better if kids can be kids while they are kids, don’t you think?

Be a kid.

I will sit back here and thank my lucky stars that if it had to happen, if my son had to be so young when he became a father, I am thrilled that the girl he was with was your mom. And I am eternally grateful that the baby was you.

Leave a Reply

