h1

Mock trial

April 26, 2012

I am very excited about your mock trial and already having a ball discussing it with you. I agree that you are working on a very exciting case. Can you imagine having been one of the original prosecutors of Dr. Samuel Mudd for conspiracy to assassinate the president of the United States? I don’t believe he did anything wrong in treating John Wilkes Booth’s broken leg, but it seems he did much more than that.

As we discussed earlier, the page at University of Missouri – Kansas City School of Law is really interesting. I am not convinced that Dr. Mudd knew of any plan to assassinate President Abraham Lincoln, but it seems likely that he knew about a plan to kidnap the president.

I have no doubt that you will do very well in both the direct questioning and cross examination that you are preparing. I am so proud that you are a prosecutor.

The 1978 mock trial at Notre Dame University that I told you about, in which I was the star witness, was not based on a historical event. But it was murder. I do like murder mysteries.

My role was to play a very loud and dramatic young woman who claimed to have seen the murder. The defense attorney tore me apart on the stand (remember, they were Notre Dame law students). He almost got me to break character, he rattled me so much.

The worst part of my day was when I was late leaving my apartment in the morning and was running to the car. It was a bit icy and I slid and fell to the concrete. As knees do when they are skinned, it felt as if all of the skin on my knee was hanging down to my ankle, and oh boy, did it hurt. There was no time to change pantyhose, so I found myself tugging my skirt down all day to try and cover the knee.

Good luck in your mock trial. Don’t wear pantyhose, and don’t fall down. I know you will shine.

Leave a Reply

