h1

Angry

April 29, 2012

Do me a favor, will ya?

If I EVER post online a picture of a family member on their death bed and talk about giving them “permission to die,” I want you to come over to my house and kick me right in my addled head.

Egad.

We can take that even further. If I ever ASK permission to die, smother me immediately. I would be better off.

In the meantime, I will die when I damned well please, thank you.

I don’t know when we began needing permission to die, but I think it came with unbelievably self-absorbed adult children who forget that their parents’ deaths are not about them, but about their parents. They forget, or perhaps it never penetrated their thick heads, that broadcasting each and every symptom, setback and bodily function is DEMEANING to their parent.

Assholes, I say.

Try explaining all of that to those who are saying, with tears streaming down their cheeks (videotaped for posterity and immortalized on YouTube or the equivalent, the  jerks), “It’s okay, Mom (or Dad), you may die now. I give you permission.”

I understand people talking with loved ones who are close to death, assuring them that those they leave  behind will be okay. I get that part. But those who talk about giving their parents permission to die…

Assholes, I say.

5 comments

  1. I didn’t know this was a ‘thing’, but it seems a little crude. Our parents bring us into the world, and naturally we bring them from it. Are these, perhaps, those same who record their childrens’ births for the world to see, then? Imagine giving your child permission to be born.


    • Oh! How perfect that statement is! We didn’t need permission to be born, did we?

      I don’t know if it’s a thing, but I have seen it recently a few times on Facebook. It has upset me enough that I can’t even watch the feeds of those whose parents are dying. The pictures of parents in hospital beds makes me crazy. I just can’t imagine doing that.


  2. if mine do that I shall come back and say ‘I give you permission to let yourself go’, right when they are about to orgasm with their partners.then hang about to watch….hehehe


    • LOLOL! Oh Jo, I do so love your responses.


      • I am a bit twisted I know – but they better not pull any crap like that on my deathbed…I think I’d make a great ghost…so much fun to be had. The ex is in for some interesting times too !!!



Leave a Reply

