h1

Vicissitudes

January 15, 2013

So Papa Kirk‘s house has been torn down. I can’t tell you why that hit me hard when you messaged me, but it did. Something inside let loose and felt a little bit broken. I could tell that you felt it, too. I miss him. I miss a lot of things that have begun to go by the wayside just prior to fading out completely.

I miss Arkie. I miss Jason, and I sometimes even miss the noise of the highway. I miss you as you grow into a beautiful young woman and live your life as a healthy young person should.

But we are not missing the important things, sweet girl, and we are precisely where we are meant to be at this time.

Remember this moment: 12:01 a.m. January 1, 2013, when you texted me Happy New Year. We are never apart for that moment year after year. This year, though we were physically apart, we were still together because you are so thoughtful.

More changes are coming, but I think we will handle them just fine.

One comment

  1. you will handle changes just fine! i love the sensitivity of your heart and how you express it!



Leave a Reply

