h1

Don’t type, don’t type, don’t type

January 20, 2013

This may be the most important advice I ever give you, sweet girl. Typing when altered for any reason can lead to all kinds of problems. Being angry is one of the best reasons to avoid typing. Though it could give you a feeling of momentary relief or even victory, please remember that anything you type and publish to the Internet or in a telephone text message can follow you for the rest of your life.

I would love to type something entirely different than what I am typing now. I would love to be sarcastic and superior and downright nasty, but what would it serve?

I suspect that anything I could type is already known by those who have placed me in an untenable position tonight. Placing negative thoughts in type that will last forever won’t aid me or the other persons who have been wronged. It would lower me to the level of those perpetrating the dissension and in some ways it would make me worse than them, because I know better.

I hope you do, too.

Thank the Dixie Chicks for popularizing an English proverb (the song is good, too): “To talk without thinking is to shoot without aiming.”

Think today. Type tomorrow.

2 comments

  1. but see, you are the type…


    • We control the type, if we are wise.



Leave a Reply

